What are you trying to prove?

I was a starry eyed girl. I believed in Perfect Love. In my case Perfect marriage. I had hoped for love to happen to me, had a crush also. Sigh! Strangely, guys found me too dreamy and fairytale-ish to fall in love with me.

But isn’t love an unrealistic and unbelievable feeling.

They don’t manufacture the “Prince Charming” version these days. To hell with all those guys. It is their loss. From my childhood I was a fairy tale fanatic and grew up believing in ‘Happily Ever After’.

To me

Husband = Tall Dark Handsome, Knight in Shining Armor.

I = Beautiful Princess in a shiny gown and sparkling sandals.

My future house = My future kingdom.

I was pampered crazy. Mamma’s darling and Daddy’s baby.

One day, my righteous and wise King Father invited an eligible bachelor home. I’m such a soap queen, I immediately understood that this is the ‘not to be named meeting’, like the ones that happen in all arranged marriages. I totally trusted my father to choose the best for me. They arrived in a black car with a ‘Horse’ picture on the bonnet. I took this as a confirmation that this is my Prince.

I was all excited and blush, peeping behind the curtain, could not see his face. My father made sure, it looked nothing like the ‘not to be named meeting’. I also acted as if I did not understand. My Prince was all that a girl would want, smart, confident and sweet. This meeting was a formality. The families had already decided on this marriage.

I was introduced to the Eligible Bachelor and his family. Oh, how crazy it was. I was carried to my dreamland, my heart singing away inside me. 

From the day he stepped into my house, there has been no night and day, it was like a continuous celebration, music and song, fun and frolic, all happiness.

The day of our marriage came. I was liked by all his relatives. Such a lovely family. Grand celebrations, beautiful dresses, everything was so awesome. I was living a dream. The sun rose and set, days passed, how happy I was.

 One day I and his aunt could not agree on a trivial matter, it turned into a cold war. Well, we did sort out the issue amicably, but the bad vibes remained. My husband was away when this happened.

The drama queen that I was, I locked myself in my room, did not have lunch. My mother-in-law, a sweet lady, she tried to make me understand, tried to make me eat something, I had a bit to make her happy. I was at my silly best.

I wanted my husband to come and see my suffering. ‘But where is he, its 8pm now. I am so very hungry. Can’t he come soon, so that I can show him my sad face, he will pamper me, talk to me, treat me like a princess and then I will eat something’.

How desperate I was, I kept looking out of the window. Finally, he came at 9pm. I was so happy. But I’m supposed to be sad and upset. So I changed my expression. I was prepared to tell him of my ordeal and about his so called aunt.

I wanted to be justified, vindicated and understood. He came in, I did not come out of the room. His mother spoke to him and told him all that happened. He switched on the TV and had tea.

He did not come to me, I was so irritated, waited and waited. He did not come. Finally, he called me out. I came out teary eyed. Waiting to hear what he will say.

He looked at me and a slight grin on his face. He said, “What are you trying to prove?”.

Did I hear him right? Is this his reaction. What the hell…. All my tantrums, sadness, crying, starvation all in vain. I was waiting since afternoon, locked myself in, torturing myself and here he is, no reaction.

Looking at my face he smiled. I started crying. ‘This is not how you deal with relationships’, said he.

How silly was I, I had just stepped into marriage, created so many new relations. Marriage is a responsibility, I understood. Relations are important elements of our life. They have to be nurtured, cared for with respect and love. 

With this one act, my husband taught me patience, forgiveness and understanding. Made me sit down, we watched TV, had dinner. That was the end of the issue and also my tantrums. 


Hope you liked the story. If you’d like the complete collection, you can find it here,

Author: BrickReads

Brick Reads is all about short stories, real and fictional. It is short enough to not take too much of your time and just enough to muse you.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started